Despite temperatures reaching into the upper 90's, the 18th annual Smoke on the Hill BBQ cookoff at Richards Park nonetheless was a huge success.  The final tally from the event showed that $20,000 was raised to help support the Brady Volunteer Fire Department.  On Tuesday, the check for that amount was presented to Chris Stidham representing the volunteers by event organizer, Brentt Raybion.

There were 35 different cooking teams competing in seven different events at  this year's event - Appetizer, Margarita, Bloody Mary, Beans, Chicken, Ribs and Brisket.  There was also a lot of interest this year with the youth chicken event as it drew 15 participants.  This was the first year for the cookoff to be a state sanctioned event which had a guaranteed $10,000 payoff to winning cooking teams.

Along with the cooking competition, there was also a corn hole tournament that had 34 participants involved, many of whom were from out of town. Participants competed in two divisions for cash prizes and awards.  Also present were a number of vendors who kept the crowd refreshed or had products available for sale.  The Brady Volunteer Fire Department sold BBQ plates along with hot dogs and hamburgers.

The evening continued with live music at 8PM provided by opener Aaron McBee and headliner Michael Carubelli.

At the completion of all food judging, awards were presented to the winning teams and individuals.  The top two cooking teams of this year's event are -

Grand Champion - Scotty Brice (East Texas Cookers) - Timpson, TX

Reserve Grand Champion - Clint Collier (Mama Tried) - Bertram, TX

Below are the top winners in each event -

  • 1st Place Appetizer - Cayce Raybion
  • 1st Place Margarita - Dennis Land
  • 1st Place Bloody Mary - Aubrey Hart
  • 1st Place Youth Chicken - Cruz Bryce

Beans -

  • 1st Place - Clint Collier
  • 2nd Place - Cayce Raybion
  • 3rd Place - Dylan Raybion

Chicken -

  • 1st Place - Willie Jacoby
  • 2nd Place - Caiden Raybion
  • 3rd Place - Jason Young

Ribs -

  • 1st Place - Clint Collier
  • 2nd Place - Scotty Bryce
  • 3rd Place - Michael Valdez

Brisket -

  • 1st Place - Phil Breeden
  • 2nd Place - Clint Collier 
  • 3rd Place - Dennis Land

A complete list of winners will be posted soon!